Where else would Anime Expo 2001 open up the doors to the anime weekend's biggest party event than at the Terrace Theater!  This Tenth Year Anniversary theme highlighted a schedule packed with amazing Guests of Honor, tons of fan and industry panels, the largest Exhibit Hall ever, and more activities than you can shake a stick at.  Unbelievable.  And even more unbelievable that LLNN was still alive after capturing coverage across the entire four-day party-filled weekend.

Anime Expo 2001
AX Major Events

 With the largest theater complex ever, AX was able to sustain over 3000 fans for Opening Ceremonies, Masquerade Night, and other huge events.

 Glorious speeches about the growth of anime fandom and goodwill around the anime community were given by City of Hope chairman John Taylor, AX co-chair Darold Higa, and AX Head Cheese Mike Tatsugawa, and then the Guests of Honor were introduced, Hisashi Abe, Morio Asaka, Kia Asamiya, Scott Frazier, Kikuko Inoue, Noboru Ishiguro, Yoshiaki Iwasaki, Toshihiro Kawamoto, Masayuki Kojima, Tsukasa Kotobuki, Hidenori Matsubara, Haruhiko Mikimoto, Makoto Uno, and Yu Watase.  And let's just say the applause was earth shattering.
 The secret of Max is revealed!  It's AX Special Events staffer Stephanie wearing a motion capture assembly.  Max became the official mascot in 1999 when AX99 Guest of Honor Mika Akitaka thought the premiere anime convention needed a special addition to the AX fan experience.  The live-motion computer generated facsimile exhibited some quirkiness, but we're sure 2002's new technological advancements will smooth out all the kinks.
 Life doesn't get better than this!  The audience was captivated at Opening Ceremonies as a clip from a new anime was recorded on stage by the lovely Guest of Honor Ms. Kikuko Inoue (voice of Belldandy from Ah! My Goddess), Takumi Yamazaki (voice of Isamu Dysan from Macross Plus), and some great voice acting students from Nippon Engineering College taught by Voice Acting Sensei Akira Kamiya (Ryo from City Hunter).  
 Fans may not have known about it, but industry professionals and Guests of Honor certainly got a lot of work done at the Industry Reception.  As anyone involved the fast-paced entertainment business knows, conventions are all about making the deals and keeping up good communication.
 The first SPJA Charity check for City of Hope debuted at AX donated a total of $9,440, which makes the $113,487 donation for AX2001 drop even more jaws!  Sitting in front, the Guests of Honor who donated funds proudly posed for a distinguished photo-op (LLNN is also an SPJA Charity provider).
The huge grand Terrace Theater also played host to the biggest and best Anime Music Video Contest ever, and here we have the listing of the Finalists for each category, including the winners, thanks to Shaun Hendricks of the AX Video Department.

AX2001 Anime Music Video Awards Winners
Action Adventure
Action Adventure Winner!
Justin Emerson - Soul of an Angel

Category Finalists
Charles Bathel - All Out of Enemies
David Ferguson - DangerZone
Jesse Menendez - EOE Dragula
Joe Corasdaile - Lost in Space
Nic Neidenbach - Nadesico Lost in Space
Patrick Delahanty - Cowboy Bebop Lost in Space
Richard Reyes - Beach Patrol
Richard Reyes - Teenage Drivers
Scott Francis - I'll Probably Survive
Drama Category Winner! 
Vlad G Pohnert - Memories Dance

Category Finalists
Brad DeMoss - Rhapsody in Green
Joe Croasdaile - Far and Away
Jon Bjorling - Dreams in Digital
Jon Bjorling - What Do I Have to Do
Neil Smith - Ruri inTrance
Nick Corbo - Spikes Eulogy
Otaku Outpost - One Day More
Ronald Ladao - Natures Scar
Ryan Tharp - Her Circumstances
Comedy Category and Most Popular Winner! 
Eric Kobet - Tainted Doughnuts

Winner for Best Song Selection, Best Composition, Most Stylish & Judges Award for Excellence
Senta Miller - Shiro Shonen 

Winner for Judges Special Merit
Tim Park - Right Now 

Winner for Best Editing & Special Effects
JR Locke - Odorikuruu 

Category Finalists
Brad DeMoss - I'm Super
Brian Tetzlaff - Mambo #5
Justin Emerson - Anime Polka
Nic Neidenbach - Jinnai and the Bugrom Live!
Noreen Frost - You Spin Me Round
Vlad G Phonert - Love Hurts
From signboards to artbooks, CDs to cels, posters to wallscrolls, only the few, the proud, and the truly dedicated anime fans with deep pocketbooks gathered here to bid on items signed by the Guests of Honor.  With all proceeds going to charity, highlighted winning bids for an absolutely stunning list of fabulous items included: $750 for a Vampire Hunter D cel by Urban Vision / Anime Link, $850 for a Fushigi Yugi banner by Pioneer Entertainment, $1300 for an Ah! My Goddess movie cel with Belldandy, Urd, and Skuld by AIC, $1900 for colored Silent Mobius signboard art by Kia Asamiya, $2500 for AX96 SD-character Poster by Lionel Lum and signed by 5 years of AX Guests of Honor, $3400 for Sakura Taisen artwork on signboard, $4000 for Cowboy Bebop artwork on signboard by Toshihiro Kawamoto, $4000 for Minmei artwork in sketchpad by Haruhiko Mikimoto, $4500 for Gundam 0083 artwork on signboard by Toshihiro Kawamoto, and a whopping $10,000 for Ah! My Goddess artwork on signboard by Hidenori Matsubara.
 The SPJA Charity Art Auction for 2001 was yet again, a huge success with tons of artwork donated by Guests of Honor, Industry representatives, and sponsors.  

[Back to Mass Navigation Page]  [Back to Main Page]